Do glasses make your eyes lazy?

glassesMy eyesight was awesome until I hit 40.  They warn you but you never expect it to happen to you.  Suddenly I was unable to read menus in restaurants and the small text on my phone. Begrudgingly I started to wear reading glasses which restored my close up vision to perfect sharpness.  My distance sight is still fine so I don’t wear them except for reading and computing.

It kept feeling like my vision was getting worse and worse.  Now I can’t see shit up close without glasses.   I was concerned that wearing reading glasses causes your eyes to get lazy and lose the muscle that keeps them in focus.  I read that it is not true but I’m beginning to wonder about that.

A few days ago I decided I would go without my glasses for a while and see what happens. At first I couldn’t see anything and had to strain my eyes.  After a few days it wasn’t so bad.  Now, the text on my monitor is still a bit blurry but I can manage fairly well without my glasses.  At times it doesn’t seem quite so bad.  There are still times when I need them but for the most part, I don’t have to feel blind without them.

I tend to think that the things I read on the internet are true.  You would expect to be able to believe what you see on reputable health sites.  I’m thinking not so much.

There’s no doubt that my vision without glasses is better now than it was when I relied on them.  I’m going to continue my experiment for another week at least.  So far so good.

 

