Lunch Inflation

lncmnyI usually go out for lunch on weekdays.  Mostly to get away from the office and also because a man needs food.  It is suddenly getting very hard to eat lunch for less than $10.00.

I think Subway is the only place I can go to get a meal for under $10. Schlotzkey’s (another sandwich shop) costs $10.03.  The  price of the sandwich looks great at $5.79 but if you want a small back of chips and a small drink it suddenly doubles the price.

Many dining and buffet restaurants easily cost more than $10 plus a tip.  I usually just get water.  I guess water is the way to go nowadays to fight the inflation a little.  At the end of the month, I have usually spent $250 just on lunch.  Not that I can’t afford it but it’s the principle.  That means I spend $3,000 a year just on rushed lunches.  Holy Guacamole!

I remember, only around ten years ago, I could easily lunch out for around $5.00.  I even kept a lunch log for a year or more.  I wish I still had it to compare.  Project forward another ten years and we will expect to spend $15-20 on a burger and fries.  Especially if the $15.00 per hour minimum wage becomes a thing.  Can you imagine?  Even those getting $15.00 an hour won’t be able to afford lunch.

Somebody needs to hit the reset switch.  Set prices and wages back where they should be and let’s start over.  Just divide everything by 10 and only the number change.  You will have 10 times less money in your bank account but it will still buy the same amount of stuff. Elect me as your supreme leader and I’ll take care of it.

I plan on bringing my lunch at least twice a week now.  Not only will I save $960 I will be eating healthier.  Unfortunately it will be less satisfying.  All food tastes better when somebody else makes it.   I guess I’ll get used to it.  It’s all for the best.

 

