Another bird dies in my hands

I walked out into the backyard to turn off the swimming pool pump when I noticed something colorful on the ground.  It was a small parakeet lying face down in the grass.  I thought maybe it had run into something and knocked itself out.  Birds sometimes do that on the windows of my house.  This one was pretty far from the house though.  It was strange to see such a colorful bird in a world of crows and sparrows.

I reached down and picked it up.  It’s wings were outstretched.  It was pretty weak but was able to grab on to my finger and still able to stand up on it’s own.  I set him on the picnic table to see what was going on. I gave him a little container of water.  He was barely able to stand and tried to fly but didn’t get far.

I picked him up again and folded his wings and held him in my hand.  He was getting weaker by the second.  I hoped if he was going to die that he would not suffer much longer.  I held him and stroked his head gently.  Soon he was unable to hold up his head.  His eyes were blinking strangely.  I could see him breathing quickly.  I stayed with him for a few more minutes until his whole body stretched out.  He then relaxed and he stopped breathing.  I knew he was gone.  I closed his eyes.  I held him a little longer.  I had dug a small hole in the flowerbed a few days earlier to get some dirt.  The hole was the perfect size for him so I laid him to rest.

This is the second time I’ve been with a bird as they passed away and I was honored to be there with them at the end.  I can only hope that someone will be with me when my time comes.  I’m pretty sure I will die alone.  I’m glad that at least not everybody has to.

 

Leave a Reply

