Emergency Drinking Water

I’ve been wanting to get one of these for many years and though the price has gone up, I decided now was the time to get one before it is too late.

The world has never been closer to nuclear war than it is now. Even the Cuban Missile Crisis was not as serious. Nobody seems to care, of course. They just go on with their monotonous lives, not doing anything at all to be prepared just in case. I find that it’s worth every penny you spend to have some peace of mind.

A place in town had a stack of food-grade 275 gallon IBC totes for sale at $150 each, so I went to check them out. They were used for carrying avocado oil, so I’m not worried about any dangerous contaminants. It still had about an inch of oil at the bottom which smelled a little rancid but not too bad, so I took that to mean that these are pretty fresh units. I paid the $150 in cash and backed my truck up and slid one off the top right into the bed and drove home.

I cleaned it out well using soap and a pressure washer and popped it into place around the back of my house near my AC and outdoor shower. It was a perfect fit.

My next step will be to use some of my leftover metal roofing material to build a shell around it to keep the sun off in order to avoid algae growth as well as deflect the radioactive particles.

I’m going to order an RV water pump, so I’ll be able to supply pressurized water to the house in the event of unpleasantness. I’m not sure if I should get a 120v or a 12v pump. I have an extensive backup solar power system that will provide endless 120v power, but if something happens to that, I would be better to have a 12v pump that can run off a car battery and a solar panel. I could still run the 12v pump off of 120v using a power converter that I have, but it would be a little inconvenient to set up. Hard choice. I’m going to have to think about that a bit, but not too long because we may need it soon.

All I have to do is run a hose from the pump to the faucet nearby, shut off the main valve at the meter and the house will be fully self-contained. The pump comes on automatically only when a faucet is opened.

For extra protection, I’ll get an inline RV water filter that will just attach between the pump and the faucet. This will filter out additional contaminants as well as remove some of the chlorine that will be used to treat the water for long-term storage.

Supposedly it will be safe for storage for 3–5 years. I’ll plan on refreshing it every year anyway.

The total cost should be less than $200. Not a bad price for 275 gallons of peaceful mind. What are you waiting for? Tick-tock-boom!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.